

June 14, 2017

## Steve Lohr of J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines Elected Wine Institute Chairman 2017-2018



SAN FRANCISCO – Steve Lohr, CEO of J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines in San Jose and Paso Robles, has been elected Wine Institute Board Chairman for the 2017-2018 fiscal year. The election was held at Wine Institute's 83rd Annual Meeting of Members in San Diego. Other board officers elected were Chris Indelicato of Delicato Family Vineyards in Napa, first vice chairman; Hank Wetzel of Alexander Valley Vineyards in Healdsburg, second vice chairman; John Sutton, The Wine Group in Livermore, treasurer; and Suzanne Groth, Groth Vineyards & Winery in Oakville, secretary. Robert P. (Bobby) Koch is President and CEO of Wine Institute.

"Since 1934, Wine Institute has helped wineries of all sizes as the go-to voice of the California wine industry. It is an honor to have been selected by my industry colleagues to work with Wine Institute's

experienced team on core issues facing our industry: policies and regulations, taxation, enhancing California wines' reputation and commerce both in the United States and abroad, finding solutions to labor and immigration challenges, and promoting sustainable winegrowing practices that will continue to make our industry thrive for years to come," said Lohr.

Lohr began in the wine industry in 1972 at the age of 10 when he helped his father, Jerry, plant their first vineyards in the Arroyo Seco appellation of Monterey County. Through high school, he worked weekends in the vineyards, fostering a lifelong passion for viticulture. After graduating from Stanford University with degrees in civil engineering and economics, Lohr split his time between winegrowing, and designing and building high-end custom homes on the San Francisco Peninsula. He joined J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines in 2003 as VP of planning and development, and later became EVP/COO of J. Lohr Vineyards, overseeing the management and development of the family's 3,700 acres of estate vineyards in Paso Robles, Monterey and St. Helena. Lohr has served as a three-term chairman of the Paso Robles Wine Country Alliance, and is also the chairman of the California Sustainable Winegrowing Alliance.

Wine Institute is the public policy advocacy group for nearly 1,000 California wineries and affiliated businesses, accounting for 95 percent of California wine production and 85 percent of U.S. wine production. Based in San Francisco, with offices in Sacramento, Washington, D.C., six regions across the U.S. and 15 foreign countries, Wine Institute is guided by 80 vintners who are members and alternates on an active board of directors. The board elects the chairman and officers on an annual basis.

Wine Institute's membership also elected new district- and at-large directors and alternates. District directors and their alternates were elected on a one-member-one-vote basis in each district, following nominations by regional winery associations. They are:

DIRECTOR	ALTERNATE
Tracey Hawkins Hawk and Horse Vineyards, Lower Lake	Vacant
Carmen Castaldi Rodney Strong Wine Estates, Healdsburg	James DeBonis Trentadue Winery, Geyserville
Steven MacRostie	Harry Wetzel
MacRostie Winery & Vineyards, Sonoma  Julie Pedroncelli St. John	Alexander Valley Vineyards, Healdsburg Louis M. Foppiano
J. Pedroncelli Winery, Geyserville	Foppiano Wine Company, Healdsburg
	Debra Mathy Dutcher Crossing, Healdsburg
Alexander valley villeyards, Fleatdsburg	Dutcher Crossing, Fleatusburg
Dennis Cakebread	Michael Reynolds
Cakebread Cellars, Rutherford	Hall Wines, St. Helena and Rutherford
Hugh Davies	Robin Baggett
Schramsberg Vineyards, Calistoga	Alpha Omega Winery, St. Helena
Suzanne Groth	Paul Leary
Groth Vineyards & Winery, Oakville	Blackbird Vineyards
=	Marketta Fourmeaux
	Marketta Winery, Napa
	Eric Ackerman
Viader Vineyards, Deerpark	Jackson Family Wines, Santa Rosa
William Cooper	Earl Ault
Cooper-Garrod Vineyards, Saratoga	Cedar Mountain Winery, Livermore
Scott Scheid	Lawrence Lohr
Scheid Vineyards, Salinas	J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines, San Jose
Gary Eberle	Frank Ostini
-	Hitching Post Wines, Buellton
Stephen Miller	Nicholas Miller
The Thornhill Companies, Santa Barbara	The Thornhill Companies, Santa Barbara
Gretchen Roddick	Tara Gomez
Hope Family Wines, Paso Robles	Kita Wines, Lompoc
Karen Steinwachs	Laura Booras
Buttonwood Farm Winery, Solvang	Riverbench Winery, Santa Maria
Alexander McGeary	Linda McWilliams
Shadow Mountain Vineyards & Winery,	San Pascal Winery, La Mesa
Warner Springs	·
Aimee Sunseri	Steven Millier
New Clairvaux Vineyards, Vina	Milliaire Winery, Murphys
David Phillips	Randall Lange
Michael-David Winery, Lodi	LangeTwins Vineyards & Winery, Lodi
-	
	Carmen Castaldi Rodney Strong Wine Estates, Healdsburg Steven MacRostie MacRostie Winery & Vineyards, Sonoma Julie Pedroncelli St. John J. Pedroncelli Winery, Geyserville Katie Wetzel Murphy Alexander Valley Vineyards, Healdsburg  Dennis Cakebread Cakebread Cellars, Rutherford Hugh Davies Schramsberg Vineyards, Calistoga Suzanne Groth Groth Vineyards & Winery, Oakville Alex Ryan Duckhorn Wine Company, St. Helena Delia Viader Viader Vineyards, Deerpark  William Cooper Cooper-Garrod Vineyards, Saratoga  Scott Scheid Scheid Vineyards, Salinas  Gary Eberle Eberle Winery, Paso Robles Stephen Miller The Thornhill Companies, Santa Barbara Gretchen Roddick Hope Family Wines, Paso Robles Karen Steinwachs Buttonwood Farm Winery, Solvang  Alexander McGeary Shadow Mountain Vineyards & Winery, Warner Springs  Aimee Sunseri

All members elected 20 at-large directors who had been nominated by the Institute's Finance and Administration Committee. Alternates were chosen by at-large directors.

AT-LARGE DIRECTOR	ALTERNATE
Giancarlo Bianchetti	Holly Killion
Fetzer Vineyards, Hopland	Fetzer Vineyards, Hopland
Virginia Clark	Nichole Malec
Constellation Brands, Victor	Constellation Brands, Victor
James Coleman	To be announced
E. & J. Gallo Winery, Modesto	
Cindy DeVries	Rodrigo Maturana
Fetzer Vineyards, Hopland	Fetzer Vineyards, Hopland
Michael Drobnick	Matthew Towers
O'Neill Vintners & Distillers, Parlier	O'Neill Vintners & Distillers, Parlier
John Franzia, Jr.	Daniel Leonard
Bronco Wine Company, Ceres	Bronco Wine Company, Ceres
Joseph Franzia	Fredrick Irwin, Jr.
Bronco Wine Company, Ceres	Bronco Wine Company, Ceres
Matthew Gallo	Stephanie Gallo
Gallo Family Vineyards, Healdsburg	E. & J. Gallo Winery, Modesto
Tobin Ginter	Mark Mathewson
Rodney Strong Vineyards, Healdsburg	Rodney Strong Vineyards, Healdsburg
Chris Indelicato	Jolene Yee
Delicato Family Vineyards, Napa	Delicato Family Vineyards, Napa
Steve Lohr	Thomas Selfridge
J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines, San Jose	J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines, San Jose
James O'Malley	David Perata
Brown-Forman Corporation, Louisville	Sonoma-Cutrer Vineyards, Windsor
Steven Spadarotto	Ken Minami
Francis Ford Coppola Presents, Geyserville	Francis Ford Coppola Presents, Geyserville
John Sutton	Keith Bauman
The Wine Group, Livermore	The Wine Group, Livermore
Rick Tigner	Jeff Wesselkamper
Jackson Family Wines, St. Helena	Jackson Family Wines, St. Helena
Robert Torkelson	Anthony Torres
Trinchero Family Estates, St. Helena	Trinchero Family Estates, St. Helena
Roger Trinchero	Peter Larson
Trinchero Family Estates, St. Helena	Trinchero Family Estates, St. Helena
Brian Vos	Jeff Dubiel
The Wine Group, Ripon	The Wine Group, Ripon
Michael Walker	Tiffanie De Liberty
Constellation Brands, San Francisco	Constellation Brands, San Francisco
Christine Wente	Amy Hoopes
Wente Family Estates, Livermore	Wente Family Estates, Livermore